About the Blue Ridge Football Officials Clinic – 2022

About the Blue Ridge Football Officials Clinic (2022)

Through our clinics, we strive to provide our attendees with opportunities to:

  • Meet and interact with experienced, successful football officials from all levels of the game.
  • Meet and interact with Collegiate Conference Officiating Supervisors.
  • Achieve a better understanding of mechanics, philosophies, and requirements for advancement.
  • Participate in a day filled with group discussion, video review, and position breakout meetings with officials who have worked in the NFL, NCAA Division I (FBS & FCS), Bowls, and post-season games at all levels of college football.

2022 Clinic Staff and Guests


Supervisors of Officials and Conference Representatives

Bryan Platt (Supervisor)
Dennis Hennigan (Supervisor)
Chris Smith (Supervisor)
Mike DeFee (Supervisor)
Gerald Austin (Retired Supervisor, NFL Retired)
Billy Alton (Representative/NFL Observer)
Centennial Conference
Jim Corpora (Supervisor)
Middle Atlantic Conference, Northeast Conference, NJAC, PSAC
Dennis Crim
Rich DeMayo
Steve Fleshman (Supervisor)
South Atlantic Conference
Jack Childress (Supervisor, SEC Replay)
Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference
Tom Symonette (Supervisor)
Tri-State Football Group
Brian Sakowski (Representative)

2022 Clinicians

Brad Allen (NFL)
Tim Hedgepeth (ACC) (NFL Developmental)
Nate Black (AAC)
Umpire/Center Judge
Johnnie Forte (ACC)
Danny Worrell (ACC)
Jeff Flanagan (ACC)
Line of Scrimmage
Ed Camp (NFL)
Steve Matarante (ACC)
Greg Zimmerman (SoCon)
Eric Monroe (CAA/IVY/Patriot)
Tom Hill – Field Judge (NFL)
Jeff Shears – Side Judge (ACC)
Chris Junjulas (ACC Replay Supervisor)
Peter Vaas (CIP Replay Supervisor)
Ronnie Ford (C-USA Replay Supervisor)
Rusty Acree (ACC Replay)


Clinic Committee

Rodney Burnette – C-USA Referee
John Busch – ACC Replay
Dan Foutz – CAA/Ivy/Patriot Replay
Scott Held – ACC Center Judge
Doug Kennedy – SoCon Line Judge
Stuart Mullins – ACC Referee, CIP Evaluator, USFL Referee
Jeff Shears – NFL Side Judge
Jim Slayton – ACC Line Judge
Matt Smyth – CAA/Ivy/Patriot Downfield
Trey Williams – SAC Back Judge